Portugal — Digital Nomad Visa (D8 — temporary stay or residency)
2 of 5 facts below are machine-verified against official government pages; the rest say so honestly. Last checked 2026-09-04. Anything that changes on the official pages lands in the change log.
| Income requirement verified 2026-09-04 | 4 × Portugal's minimum monthly wage, shown as average monthly income over the last 3 months (the minimum wage is €920/month in 2026, so ≈ €3,680/month) Source: Portugal MFA — required documentation (temporary stay) exact wording on the official page“Proof of average monthly income for the last three months with a minimum value equivalent to four monthly minimum guaranty remuneration” “the minimum monthly salary - currently in 2026 - amounting to 920€” |
|---|---|
| Application fee unverified — check official source | The consular fee is not stated on the visa-documentation pages we track; ask the Portuguese consulate handling your application. |
| Visa length verified 2026-09-04 | Two official routes: a temporary-stay visa, or a residency visa that leads to a residence permit Source: Portugal MFA visa portal — visa types exact wording on the official page“Temporary stay visa for the exercise of a professional activity done remotely - "digital nomads"” “Residency visa for the exercise of a professional activity done remotely - “digital nomads”” |
| Renewable? unverified — check official source | Renewal terms are set by the general immigration rules, not stated on the visa pages we track. |
| Tax notes unverified — check official source | Tax treatment is not stated on the official visa pages; Portugal generally taxes residents after 183 days — confirm with the Portuguese tax authority (AT). |
Almost every visa on this site asks for proof of health or travel-medical insurance covering your whole stay — check the insurance row of the official requirements before you apply. (Partner placement reserved; text only for now.)